facebook pinterest News RSS
Register Are you a Student?
My Account
Educational Videos
Current Events Lessons
Student Zone /
izzit Kids!
Teacher Tools
Because izzit respects the hard work of classroom teachers, we've often run a variety of contests, including a Teacher of the Year contest in which classroom teachers submitted lesson ideas, lesson plans, and teaching activities centered around izzit's free educational videos. Winners received $2,000 cash, The David and Annette Jorgenson Award for Excellence, and an all-expense paid trip to places such as Chicago and NYC. Other contests have awarded classroom teachers and students with trips to Hawaii and Hong Kong. We've given away Kindles, Kindle Fires, and iPods. To see a list of all our previous winners, see below. And stay tuned to this page for more contests in the future!
Previous izzit.org Contest Winners
2014 - 2015
Amazon Gift Card Contest Winner:
Sue Ann Lavarias - Mililani High School, Mililani, HI
Holiday Win a Roku Player Contest Winners:
Benjamin Ryan - Pioneer Ridge Middle School, Gardner, KS
Allison Thoren - Waukegan High School, Lindenhurst, IL
Walter Smith - Hoffman Academy, Littlestown, PA
Feedback Contest Winner:
Anita Moore - Magnolia High School, Magnolia, AR
Writing Prompt Contest Winner:
Toni Savchuck - Culbertson Elementary School, Newtown Sq., PA
Back to School Facebook Contest Winner:
Michelle Gray - S. S. Dixon Intermediate School, Milton, FL
2013 - 2014
Name a Pup Contest Winner:
Pawtrick Henry - Linette Farris and her Title 1 class at Emile Elementary School in Bastrop, Texas
Name a Pup Contest Runners Up:
Howliver Woofcott - Angela Malais Ms. Malais' 5thGrade class, Big Spring Elementary School, Simi Valley, CA
William Whippet - Mrs. McClammy's Resource Class, Edison Elementary School, Bristow, OK
Betsy Paws - Mrs. Cantu's 2nd Grade Classes, Lola Mae "Carter Academy School of the Performing Arts," Houston, TX
Tom Houndstooth - Mrs. Corbin's 4th grade class, Tishomingo Elementary, Tishomingo, OK
Simon Bones - Mrs. Davis' 3rd Period Class, Colmer Middle School, Pascagoula, MS
NCEA Kindle Winner:
Kathleen Kenney - Saint John the Beloved School in Wilmington, DE
2012 - 2013
Teacher of the Year Winners:
Elise Cuevas, Our Lady Academy, Bay Saint Louis, Mississippi
Don Jenkins, North Whidbey Middle School, Oak Harbor, Washington
Dave Smith, Garden Spot Middle School, New Holland, Pennsylvania
Melissa Williams, Pass Christian High School, Pass Chris, Mississippi
Tina Wyant, New Albany Plain Local Schools, New Albany, Ohio
Teacher of the Year Runners Up:
Christopher Angelini, Cadi High School, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Vicky Gilpin, Cerro Gordo High School, Cerro Gordo, Illinois
Lindell Long, Clover High School, Clover, South Carolina
Tim Mcgraw, White Bear Lake Alternative Learning Center, White Bear Lake, Minnesota
Valerie Williams, Jimtown High School, Elkhart, Indiana
Kindle Contest Winners:
Jason Rasmussen , Pine Creek High School. Colorado Springs, CO
Mike Blankenship, Howard Middle School, Macon, GA
Melissa Korducavich, Johnson City High School, Binghamton, NY
Eun-Chung Oh, St. John's Elementary School, Ellicott City, MD
Roberta Parker, Summit School, Zeeland, MI
Back to School Contest Winners:
David Gardner
Ken Wayman
Shelly Liles McAninch
Lisa Scott
Laurie Stricklan Bender
Micky Pelletier
Cora Kiene
Sara Kimball Smith
2011 - 2012
Teacher of the Year Winners:
Wendy Garcia-Buchanan, Park Avenue Elementary School, Freehold, NJ
Chris Chadd, Reagan Elementary School, Brownsburg, IN
Jennifer Hall, J.E. Brown Middle School, Atlanta, GA
Sara Laughlin, The Academy, Denver, CO
Lee Mayfield, Green Sea Floyds High School, Green Sea, SC
Teacher of the Year Runners Up:
Christopher Angelini, Cadi High School, Philadelphia, PA
Bob Fenster, Hillsborough High School, Hillsborough, NJ
Don Jenkins, North Widbey Middle School, Oak Harbor, WA
Lindell Long, Clover High School, Clover, SC
Cheryl Morrow, Spain Park High School, Hoover, AL
Kindle Contest Winners:
Cindy Alvis, Virginia Middle School, Bristol, VA
James Brady, Westerville North High School, Westerville, OH
Rodger Huckabee, Kuna High School, Kuna, ID
Donna Kruse, Saint John The Evangelist School, Streamwood, IL
Calvorine Walters, Public Intermediate School 178, Brooklyn, NY
Sean Warfield, Holy Family Catholic School, Austin, TX
Barclay Wilson, All Saints Episcopal School, Fort Worth, TX
2010 - 2011
Teacher of the Year Winners:
Mrs. Mary Frank, 7th-8th grade History, Olle Middle School, Houston, TX
Dr. Michael Siekkinen, 8th grade Science , Social Studies, St. Marys Middle School, Saint Marys, GA
Dr. Linda Townsend, 8th-12th grade English, Social Studies, Special Education, Dana L. West High School, Port Bryon, NY
Mrs. Vickie Hoskins, 9th, 11th-12th grade Geography, History, Macarthur High School, Houston, TX
Mrs. Rachel Colsman, 9th, 11th-12th grade Economics, Government/Civics, History, Kirtland Central High School, Kirtland, NM
Teacher of the Year Runners Up:
Mr. Eric Strauss, 9th - 12th grade Business/Voc/Tech, Government/Civics, Albuquerque High School, Albuquerque, NM
Mrs. Barbara Fowler, 7th - 8th grade English/Language Arts, Social Studies, Government/Civics, History, Emporia Middle School, Emporia, KS
Mr. Steve Graetz, 7th grade English/Language Arts, Social Studies, Baldwin Junior High School, Baldwin, MI
Ms. Lela Barksdale, 11th - 12th grade Science, Social Studies, Geography, Government/Civics, History, Fossil Ridge High School, Fort Worth, TX
Mrs. Carrie Carlson, 10th grade History, Eau Claire North High School, Eau Claire, WI
2009 - 2010
Teacher of the Year Winners:
4th-6th grade: Mrs. Lucille Case, Science, Rock Lake Middle School, Longwood, FL
7th grade: Mrs. Rita Cochrane, Geography, David Lipscomb Middle School, Nashville, TN
8th grade: Mr. Jason Griffith, English, Lamberton Middle School, Carlisle, PA
9th grade: Mr. Adam Frank, Social Studies, Elsik Ninth Grade Center, Houston, TX
10th grade: Ms. Casey Fleming, Reading/Writing, North Miami Beach Senior High School, Miami, FL
11th grade: Ms. Carole Ng, Mathematics, Santa Teresa High School, San Jose, CA
12th grade: Ms. Marie Vitulli, Social Studies, North Rockland High School, Theills, NY
2008 - 2009
Teacher of the Year Winners:
4th-6th grade: Miss Hazel Johnston, Music, Penns Manor School District, Clymer, PA
7th grade: Mr. Edward Tooley, Geography, Los Angeles Baptist Middle/High School, North Hills, CA
8th grade: Mrs. Nancy Foote, Mathematics, Higley USD, Gilbert, AZ
9th grade: Ms. Val Margarit, Social Studies, New Dimensions High School, Kissimmee, FL
10th grade: Mr. Andrew Pollak, History, Foreman High School, Chicago, IL
11th grade: Mr. Robert Schimenz, American History, Queens Vocational & Technical High School, Long Island City, NY
12th grade: Mr. David Nimmo, Government, Nogales High School, La Puente, CA
2007 - 2008
Teacher of the Year Winners:
4th-6th grade: Mr. Stephen Veliz, Geography, Swift Creek Middle School, Tallahassee, FL
7th grade: Mrs. Pamela Carrubba, Economics, Bay St. Louis Waveland Middle School, Bay St. Louis, MS
8th grade: Mrs. Sue Nelson, Social Studies, Martin Middle/High School, Martin, MI
9th grade: Mrs. Susan Varner, Media Specialist, Western Harnett High School, Lillington, NC
10th grade: Mr. George Thomson, Economics, Nogales High School, Nogales, AZ
11th grade: Mr. Tom Glaser, Social Studies, Hialeah-Miami Lakes High School, Hialeah, FL
12th grade: Mr. Greg Fisher, Economics, California Academy of Math and Science, Carson, CA
Home  |   Press Room  |   Contact Us  |   About Us  |   Mobile  |   FAQs  |   Join Our Team  |   Join izzit  |  Login
izzit.org  |  2002 Filmore Avenue  |  Erie, PA 16506  |  888.242.0563  |  ask@izzit.org
Copyright ©2016 izzit.org All Rights Reserved  |  Privacy Policy  |  View Our PDF Catalog